Royal Australian Mint

About Royal Australian Mint

Australia’s producer of circulating coins, the Royal Australian Mint was opened in 1965 in Canberra, the Australian federal capital city. Before RAM was founded, all coins of Australia were minted at the Sydney, Melbourne, and Perth branches of the British Royal Mint. Being also the first truly Australian Mint, RAM is now the sole manufacturer of all sets of Australia's circulating coins, as well as the issuer of various Australian legal tender precious metal coins. The Royal Australian Mint also strikes medals and medallions for civilian and military honors, such as the renowned Order of Australia, and tokens for many commercial organizations, like casinos and car washes. RAM produced the 2000 Summer Olympics medals, in cooperation with the Perth Mint . The Royal Australian Mint has a capacity of striking about 2 million coins per day and since its opening issued more than 14 billion coins. It also produces currency coins for other nations, including Malaysia, Fiji, Tonga, New Zealand, Cook Islands, and much more. Today, the mint is a famous tourist destination both for visitors and locals.

The History of the Royal Australian Mint

The planning for the establishment of the mint started in 1959 when the Australian Government decided to move the Melbourne branch of the Royal Mint to Canberra. RAM was officially opened in 1965 by the Duke of Edinburgh and operated concurrently with the Melbourne Mint while sufficient stockpiles of new coins were produced in Canberra. After the Melbourne branch was closed in 1967, some of its staff has been relocated to operate within the new mint. However, the Canberra Royal Australian Mint was able to sustain the solitary production of all circulating Australian coins only in the early 1980s. Therefore, during the 1960s and 1970s, the RAM contracted production runs from other mints on several occasions, including the local Perth Mint , as well as the Royal Mint and the Royal Canadian Mint. Due to the increasing demand for the strike of collector coins, between 1984 and 1986, RAM was renovated to support the demand and also to improve the visitor facilities. In 2001 the Royal Australian Mint issued the first double hologram coin in the world to commemorate the 100-year anniversary of the Australian federation.

Perth Mint Products

The Royal Australian Mint strikes a broad variety of bullion and proof coins, as well as commemorative issues for its exquisite collectors. It’s most famous series are the Royal Australian Mint Kangaroo Series ( gold, and silver) and Royal Australian Mint Lunar Series  (gold and silver). The Lunar series started in 2007 and is produced from .9999 fine gold and .999 fine silver in various size options, including 1/20 oz., 1/10 oz., ¼ oz., ½ oz., and 1 oz., featuring the well-known Chinese Zodiac animals. The Kangaroo coins contain the same precious metal purity and showcase the renowned marsupial animal, the Australian red kangaroo. The newest Kangaroo Gold Coins come within the innovative PAMP Veriscan Assay Card. RAM also produces the Silver Road Sign Series, Silver Crocodile Series, Centenary of the Trans-Australian Railway Series and many other Royal Australian Mint Silver coins, as well as gold collectibles.

Royal Australian Mint bullion products and many other Australian Gold Coins are available to be purchased on our webstore. For any questions, contact our customer service at 800.852.6884, via live chat, or by email at