• Gold ...
  • Silver ...
  • Platinum ...
  • Palladium ...
0 My Cart

Australian Silver

Australian Silver Coins


One of the largest selections of silver coins, Australian Silver Coins, are produced by two famous Australian mints, the Perth Mint and the Royal Australian Mint. Some silver coin series, such as the Australian Lunar and Kangaroo Silver Coins, are produced by both RAM and Perth Mint, yet each of them provides a large collection of silver coins of different designs and sizes. Australian Silver Coins are highly regarded by collectors and investors all over the world due to their high quality, and exceptional designs.


Royal Australian Mint vs Perth Mint

What’s the difference between the Royal Australian Mint and Perth Mint? Perth Mint is one of the British Royal Mint’s branches which was founded in 1899. The Royal Australian Mint was established in 1965 by the government of the Australian federation as the exclusive producer of the country’s official circulating coins. The mints share some coin series concepts, such as the Kangaroo and Lunar series, but they also manufacture their own unique coin programs. The obverse sides of the silver coins produced by these two mints showcase the same effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, yet RAM coins also incorporate specific encircled elements.


The Perth Mint

The Perth Mint is the oldest and most prestigious operating mint in Australia, manufacturing both gold and silver coins . Being officially opened in June 1899 as one of the three branches of the Royal London Mint, the Perth Mint was supplying Australia with its local currency. Back in the 19th century, Australian currency was produced by locally mining precious metals, then shipping them to Great Britain to be refined and processed by the Royal London Mint and then shipped back to be distributed for circulation in Australia.

This arduous and costly practice inspired the British government to build several mints in Melbourne, Sydney, and Perth. The last one remained under the Britannic ownership until 1970, passing unto the Government of Western Australia and in 1987 under the establishment of the Gold Corporation.


The Royal Australian Mint

Founded in 1965 in Canberra, the Royal Australian Mint is the exclusive manufacturer of the official Australian circulating coins. RAM is also the first mint which was not opened as a branch of the well-known Royal Mint. In the beginning, the Royal Australian Mint was operating concurrently with the Melbourne branch of the Royal Mint until the demand for the new Australian decimal coinage was covered in 1967 and the Melbourne facility was closed. RAM also issues military, civilian and Olympic medals, as well as currency for other governments, such as Tonga, Malaysia, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, and many more. Since its establishment, the mint produced over 14 billion coins, having a 2-billion-coin production capacity per day. The Royal Australian Mint was also the first to produce in 2001 the exclusive double hologram coin celebrating the centenary of the Australian Federation.


The Australian Koala Series Silver Coins

The Australian silver coin of Koala series was first released by the Perth Mint in 2007. The koalas featured on each of these beautiful coins have incredibly detailed and different depictions: from a caring young koala walking on a branch to the one nibbling on a leaf of a eucalyptus tree. The Koala Silver Series is available in smaller weight options including 1 oz., 2 oz. and 10 oz. up to kg offerings.


The Australian Lunar Series Silver Coins

The first Lunar Perth Mint Silver coin was released in 1999 as a part of the twelve-year release of this series. The collection was inspired by the Chinese Lunar Calendar and its twelve zodiac symbols: the dragon, the snake, the horse, the goat, the monkey, the rooster, the dog, the pig, the mouse, the ox, the tiger or the rabbit. Australian Lunar Silver coins are available in sizes between 1/2 oz. and 1 kg. The Royal Australian Mint also produces its Lunar series of 1 oz. .999 fine silver coins.


The Australian Kangaroo Series Silver Coins

The Perth Mint Silver Kangaroo was first released by the Perth Mint in 1993 as a proof coin with yearly changing reverse kangaroo image. The coin is made from 1 oz. of .999 silver, yet from 2016 the mint also issues BU coins of 99.99% silver purity – a new record for the Perth Mint. The Royal Australian Mint also manufactures its Kangaroo coins made from 1 troy ounce of 99.9% pure silver.


The Australian Kookaburra Series Silver Coins

The Australian Kookaburra Silver Coin Series made its debut in 1990. The coin’s design features a depiction of this unique Australian wildlife bird that possesses the most distinct calls which can be heard from a very large distance. The designs of this image represent this songbird in various settings, from flying in the skies to living in the gum trees. The series was issued by the Perth Mint in 1 oz., 2oz., 10 oz. and 1 kg sizes and $1, $2, $10 and $30 face values in limited mintages. The masterful craftsmanship and striking designs of the Australian Silver Coins make them one of the most sought after bullion pieces in the world.

Bullion Exchanges is pleased to offer you these exclusive Australian Silver Coins. If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact us at 800.852.6884, send us a message at info@bullionexchanges.com or connect with us via our live web chat.





Please wait...